basgh image

Bangladesh-American Society of Greater Houston

The Bangladesh-American Society of Greater Houston is a non-profit and non-political organization that qualifies under Section 501 (c) of the internal revenue Code, or corresponding section of any future federal tax code. The purpose or purposes for which it is organized shall be: to provide for the intellectual, cultural, physical, social, spiritual, and civic welfare to people of Bangladeshi origin; to promote understanding, goodwill, and appreciation of cultures of Bangladesh among all persons regardless of color, creed, race, religion, and national origin; to promote Bengali-American relations; to promote cultural exchange with other groups, organizations, or institutions interested in Bengali culture; to facilitate activities of other professional, student, or any other group of Bangladeshis, provided that said groups, organizations, or institutions are also non-profit and non-political organizations duly organized under the State laws.

In order to achieve its goals and purposes, the Society shall seek to provide: a forum for expression of common concern of community; vehicle for exchange of information and views on matters of interest to Bangladesh community; a forum for expression of ideas by distinguished speakers on topics of interest to community; a mode of propagation of the libraries, museums, and exhibitions; space for an educational center for Bengali language, art, and folklore; a meeting place for Bangladesh-American cultural enrichment; a forum to inculcate the values of Bangladeshi culture among the children and youth of the community; a forum for honoring any distinguished person, association, or institution who has contributed substantially for the cause of Bangladeshi people or culture; and scholarship for higher education and also extension of any kind of help in the field of higher learning by raising funds in various ways.

The Society is run by a 15-member Board of Directors (BOD). At the end of each year, 5 Board members are elected for a term of 3 years while five Board members retire, causing a staggering membership of fifteen 15 Board Members. At the beginning of each year, the Board of Directors elect Six (6) Officers from amongst themselves for that year: a President, a Vice-President, a General Secretary, a Treasurer, an Organizational Secretary, and a Cultural Secretary. These six officers constitue the Executive Committee that is responsible to run day-to-day activities of the Society - while the Board remains the ultimate decision making body.